Thy Kingdom Come…

One family's journey crossing cultures in pursuit of the kingdom of God

Home, a Song by Grace (Home, pt. 5)

It’s been almost two years since I write about the idea of “home” and yet, it continues to be a theme that we question and seek and yet remains elusive.  Grace, especially, has been struggling with this concept, as evidenced in a song she wrote recently.

Home

Until I am 18

I will never be

in the USA

living permanently.

Chorus:

I want my home

I want my home

 I love my home

My home is

not my home

My home is

Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Chorus:

I want my home

I want my home

I love my home

I miss Olivia

I miss shopping

I miss McDonalds

I miss Chick-fil-A

I miss my old church, Intown

Chorus:

I want my home

I want my home

I love my home

I’ll miss Tendayi

I’ll miss Sishu

I’ll miss “home”

Chorus:

I want my home

I want my home

I love my home

But I’m 9 years old

9 more years

How will I wait?

Chorus:

I want my home

I want my home

I love my home

I am Grace Pollock

of Atlanta, Georgia, USA

not Grace Pollock

of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, Africa

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Home, a Song by Grace (Home, pt. 5)

  1. Grandama Nea Nea on said:

    Hi Grace, Home is wherever God will have us live and work for Him. But for you that is hard to understand. You are growing up and miss many things that are very familiar and important to you. These things will come back to you sooner than you may think. Make the best of the situation that you are in right now, because some day God will place you some where else. Sometimes when we try to hurry things up, we can make things worse for ourselves. It has happened to me before. Have Mom read the story about Jonah and the Whale. Jonah did not want to do as God instructed him to do, and Jonah made his own life very miserable. When he changed and did what God had instructed him to do in the first place, Jonah’s life wasvery much and way better. I love you and will be praying for you, Sweet Girl. Grandma Nea Nea

  2. Wood, William C on said:

    Poignant. Vivid.

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. My daughter is 39 years old and lives in White fish, MT. She misses Chick-fil-A also.

Leave a Reply

